Software Guy's Shopping Spreeeeeee !! :p  

Posted by KC

DAY AFTER TOMORROW - Marks a new episode in my life !! Am joining my first Job as a Software Analyst in Cognizant Technology Solutions ! So last week , as a part of getting ready for work , me and my folks went on a huge Shopping Spree that left my Dad's pocket as empty as Paris Hilton's pool of talent ! :) Here are the stuff that we, or rather , I grabbed home ! :)

First Stop , "The Durable chrome Factory" , a Shoe and Leather articles store near my home , to get me a pair of Leather Shoes , cotton socks and also a leather belt !!






Oh yeah , also got my Office bag , at the same place !! I hate this bag - but that was the best thing available there :( Others looked more cheaper than this !! :p But after i had spent whole lots on the shoe , i had to settle for this Cheap bag :)



Huff ! Done for the day !! Next day , we landed up at "The Chennai Silks" , the place where we usually buy our clothes !! Its known for its impressive array of apparels with reasonable pricing and hassle-free selection facilities !


Since we are allowed to wear Casuals to college , i dont have much Formal wear at home !! So i had to start from scratch ! And hence picked up 5 Formal Business Shirts !!



All of em are Full-sleeves and have light single stripes (which are nt visible here) ! Although i like em all , my favourite one is this !! The Orange one ! Which one's your favt ??? :)

PS - My mom chose a Pink shirt for me !! But am i supposed to prove to her that am Not , errr , you know what ??! :p



In our company , like many other companies , we have "Casual Fridays" , where in we are allowed to wear casuals to office !! I have a lotta T shirts at home , so picked up something different , Two half sleeved casual shirts !!



Din i say "TWO" casual shirts ?!! Only one is here !! Where is the other ????

LOL.. Here it is !! :p I already wore it for a movie 2 days back !! :)


Huff ! Enough of Shirts !! I cant afford to go in my "Undies" to Office !! :p So here are the 3 matching pants i got !! By the way these are nt ready made ! We just bought the cloth and got it stitched by our Family-tailor :) He he.. the way they are folded , seems to me like they are actually some kinda Under-wear ! :p


Oh yeah ! Am done !! But Hey , Wait a minute !! I forgot about something completely !! Aint i supposed to tell you about the prices ??! :p SO here it goes -


Leather Shoes - Rs. 800
2 pair of cotton socks - Rs.200
Leather Belt - Rs.150
Office Bag - Rs.175 (after half an hour of Bargaining :p )
5 Formal shirts - Rs. 2200
2 Casual Shirts - Rs. 700
3 Formal Pants - Rs. 2000
My Blogger Friends who are gonna comment on this post now - PRICELE$ !!!

There are somethings Money can't buy !! :p
For everything else , There's my Dad's bank account :p

This entry was posted on Wednesday, September 24, 2008 . You can leave a response and follow any responses to this entry through the Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom) .

15 comments

There are so many comments I want to say I dunno where to start...so i'm sorry if this gets a little long =P...

There's nothing more exciting than going work clothes shopping! Those are some really nice shoes you got there...and that belt is fabulous! (I'm a fan of belt buckles lol)

And ay, where's the other sleeve to that shirt you've got hanging up? I don't think you can wear shirts missing sleeves to the office =P

I like the pair of pinstripe pants in the upper left hand corner. I think I have some crazy addiction to pinstripes though, so I dunno if that counts...

Finally, LMAO at that last little bit you wrote!! That was clever!

Whew!! I think I'm done...congratulations again on your job!

Lol.. Yeah , Am pretty choosy about Belt buckles too :p

And that one sleeve got pretty shy of the papparazzi , i think :p

And hey , this is my first Pin strip pants :) All i had before are plain ones !!

And hey , Thanks again :)

Whoaa KC, you sure left your Papa's pocket empty! There are a lot of things you didn't mention in your blog, and these are my common concerns:

1) How long did you shop? Haha, it usually takes me five hours to shop, hehhe!

2) Where are these products made? I am always nosy and curious as to where my articles are made. It is important especially if you care about your economy.

3) How much budget did you really have? Was there a surplus or a deficit in your budget after shopping?

Anyway, I like the cream shirt. That is, if I viewed it right. Was it cream or white? I also like your shoes. Your bag should be something leather to make you look more professional bro! Better to save your money and buy something in good quality.

Kudos for the effort and the sweat. You are now a certified shopaholic!

Lol.. Here are the answers to your concerns :)

1. I usually dont take much time to shop !! But since this was for office , i took about 30 minutes at the Shoe store and some 1 and a half hours at the Dress store :) Just think how quick i wd shop on anyother normal day :p On the other hand , my mom - like you usually takes hourssss to shop !! Aaaah , WOMEN !!! :p

2.And Ofcourse they are all made in India !! India has one of the Biggest Textile Industries in the world ! Its also the best place to get "Silk" cloth , although ppl buy it only for special occassions.

3. Budget was around 5000 Rupees. We ended up at around 6000 Rupees. Anyway since i had brought along my Debit card - there was No problem ! :)

And err, there is one cream and one whitish shirt ! I think you talked about the middle one ! Yeah thats Cream ! And yeah , Am gonna buy a Leather bag sooon !! This ones just for temporary use ! :) Maybe till my Training gets over !

And hey thanks a lot ! First a cam whore , Now an Official Shopoholic :)

i guess you bought the entire mall, huh
=P
good for you, dude

see ya around

The T-shirts, shoes are fine.. only that blue t-shirt may look like a uniform in Singapore, so I won't choose that for my hubby, dunno that in India anyway. Your pants are fine too.

Agreed with Bridge, your bag is not professional, you should get a PVC bag at least, PVC is cheaper than leather, so it's not necessary to buy leather goods. But then, it depends on what you carry in that bag, laptop? Then your bag must be strong enough! If not the buckles at the strap might break.

In SG, I think we buy alot of foreign brands haha, cos we have a lot of imported goods...well well, frankly speaking, most are made in China even if they are branded labels! Even when I was in USA, which goods are not made from China? =P Like, I bought a Coach bag (US brand) for abt USD285, there is a big label stitched inside the bag that reads "made in China" :S Not to mention many other brands.

and hulloooo! what women take hours shopping?? Guys too! They spent hours in IT malls hahah XP that's boring too! XP N well, guys, how long do u think u can spend in shopping when ur tops are those boring long sleeves t-shirts n u simply choose the colours available and long pants (for office). N guys usually only have a pair of leather shoes for work, that's it! Hehehe

I m going to Malaysia tonight, going Ipoh. If u want to read abt Ipoh, I have some posts at my blog filed under Malaysia, which are posted early this year. There is no internet connection in Ipoh. then we will travel up to Penang island on Sunday, only then I can access to Internet. Seeya!

@ Raft3r

He he.. Guess i shall do that , after i start earning :)

@ Eunice

First of all , Thanks for this looooong comment ! Truly it's longer than my post :p

Am not sure what am gonna carry in my bag :) If its gonna be a laptop , then surely i ll change the bag soon !

And yeah , even here , we get loadsa "Made in China" stuff ! But problem is they dont come with Warranty , although they are cheap ! Especially mobile phones ! Chinese versions of i Phones are just 50 $ here :)

And hey ! Have a happy and safe trip ! Penang is different from Redang eh ?? Anyway have a great time there ! :)

Aiyo my laptop always has this soft ringtone sound, used that AVG free virus scanner, still like tat! Got to find my IT guy now (u know who hehe).

yeah, once when I was in a cellphone resale shop, a foreigner wanted to trade in a very nice nokia phone but was rejected by the shop owner cos he said it was made in China, different version =P

And China milk products, terrible! So many foods are being recalled now, even M&M!!!

Wow, new stuff for a new start!! XD Congrats for getting a new job, hope you like it! ;)

Hmm..the bag looks quite good what..why don't u like it?

And guys in pink can look cool though! :D The world is changing and pink is no longer restricted to girls!!

@ Eunice

Yeah ! I know who your "IT Guy" is :p
And yeah , heard bout the Chinese Milk food scandal ! Many poor children got infected !!

@ Lz

Thanks a lot Lz :) Hope i enjoy it :) And the bag looks like some school or college bag ! I dont think it looks professional - jus as Bridge and Eunice have said !!

And regarding Pink , i like Pink too :) But my peers may tease me :p

if they tease you, tell them that in history, pink is actually a sign of masculinity. :p

Ha..ha.. ha.. "left your Dad's pocket as empty as Paris Hilton's pool of talent" makes me couldn't stop laughing.

You'll look handsome in those clothes, KC.

Congratulation on your job. Hopefully you'll get a great career development!

Anonymous  

Its good that atleast people are getting ready for the JoB ;)

@ Summer

Hehe.. Or i shall tell them , a latest survey shows , Gals are attracted to guys wearing pink :p

@ Juliana

Yeah , Thanks a lot Sis :)

hey nice na post, i didnt know u had a blog....otherwise i wud have checked it regularly......

anyway nice post.....

even sometimes my mom, takes shirts in pink and maroon :-o but i ll say no in the most decent way and go on choosing wats best 4 me :)

btw ur blog template is awesome....check out mine, i just started writing a blog :)