The Solitary Traveller !  

Posted by KC

It was a tough day for me last Sunday ! It was the last time i was to meet with three of my best friends from the past 4 years of college life ! All three of em had got into the same company and they were all leaving the city the next day , in order to join their Work training !! As i started back home after meeting them , a sudden stroke of loneliness set upon me ! Thoughts on how am gonna miss them these upcoming days ! With these thoughts occupying my mind - i reached the bus stop ! And after some time , the bus to my home came ! As i got in , well, i don know whether it was co-incidence or "Mr.Irony" pointing his fingers at me - telling me that "You're Lonely" - i found even the bus was completely empty (ofcourse the Driver was there:), leaving me all alone & Lonely for the entire 20 minute ride home ! :)


Lol.. Never thought that the above pic , i took out of complete boredom sitting all alone in the bus wd help me to post an entry :p Anyway , as i behold upcoming months of loneliness - i have only my man William Wordsworth on my side, inorder to soothe my lonely soul with his verses from "The Solitary Reaper" !!

Whate'er the theme, the Maiden sang
As if her song could have no ending;
I saw her singing at her work
And o'er the sickle bending;--
I listened, motionless and still;
And, as I mounted up the hill
The music in my heart I bore,
Long after it was heard no more.

This entry was posted on Monday, September 15, 2008 . You can leave a response and follow any responses to this entry through the Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom) .

8 comments

Awwwww... *sad face, tear*

This was so sad! I'm sure you'll miss your friends very much. But they'll never forget about you, and the day will come when you'll see them all again and you won't have to be "the solitary traveller" anymore!

In the meantime, you're never completely alone...you've always got blogging friends like me to keep you company! =)

He he.. I din intend to make you sad with that post ! :) Anyway , yeah , even though i miss em - i have you ppl to fill in their shoes ! :) U ppl made me goin for the past 3 months - which i thought wd be 3 months of pure boredom !

And LOL , guess what - i had thought of naming this post as "The Solitary Rapper" :p ,cos it sounded well with Reaper :p Think that wd have made this a comedy post instead of a serious one ! :p

Actually I wanted to ask you, is it common for your folks like students to work during holidays? Cos 3 long mths without work is really bored, I thought you could have taken up a temporary assignment? Or your assignment is PPP heheh, which is good money for you right?!!

In Sg, it's common for us to work during school vacation. I worked since I was a teenager and had done many kind of jobs before, cheap labour hahah, but enough for me to pay my expensive school fees!

Anyway, you got your dream job now. Get ready to join the workforce! :D Earn big money and dun forget us!! XD

No.. Not at all ! None of us take up part time jobs for 2 and 3 months over here !! Mostly because the study semester is very hectic - we take full rest during the holidays :) More than that , most parents wont allow their children to go n work during the holidays !

And this time around , i was pretty interested to work - but then , all jobs i could get were in BPO's or call centers which were all night shift jobs ! My parents were nt interested to send me - so i hopped on to bloggin & PPP :) I think i made lotsss more doing this that i would have got working part time :)

ohh chum... lonely... i'm mr. lonely... hehehe.

well what else can i say chum. you have me. :p

@ Summer

I thought it wd be a lonely Winter for me ! But there's Summer already to brighten me up !! :p

I think it's different practice. Sg education is not any less stress at all, it's one of the most hectic I supposed haha.

I worked night shifts before as production operator, even for 12 hr night shift from 7pm to 7am and felt like zombie after that, but good money, better than PPP hahah! I did lie to the contractor that I was no longer studying to get those jobs! hahaha XP Also worked as waitress, cashier (darn stupid machine, I lost some money for that n need to pay back!),tutor, coordinator, wooo one list! Anyway, I don't like holiday jobs but still worked then.

U r lucky if your family can afford everything for you.

Yeah I think making PPP in USD should be better than your part time jobs.

So, how's your mental preparation for your first job?

WOW.. Thats one heck of a list !! Am sooo proud of ya sis :) And yeah am all set to go !! :) Am saturated by tooo much of sitting-idle at home !! Anyway first 3 months will be hectic , since it will be training period - although we will be taught what we know already ! Its mainly for other branches of engineering - like Electronics and Mechanics , but we Comp Sci ppl also have to go thru it !!