Hancock - "Good job" but aint Great :(  

Posted by KC


Well i have to say that i was somewhat disappointed today !! :( Am a huge Will smith fan , right from the days of Independence day , and so , although few of my friends wanted to see The Dark Knight that released today , I insisted on seeing Hancock and watchin Dark knight at a later time since there was huhe rush today for its tickets !! I knew it did nt fare that much well with critics and IMDB had given it only an average score ! So i did nt go with much expectations - even then i was pretty disappointed ! Mainly because of the Reallyy KOOL and absolutely Awesome first half of the movie !! It was the most original suff i ve seen in years !! I have never seen such humour for a long time !! Everyone of us were laughing like anything !! But then , once the second half started things took a wild turn with a not-so intersting twist in the movie , and things became USUAL Superhero-flick stuff !! After enjoying the first half sooo much , i was irritated by the emotions and the yet-another-superhero movie atmosphere of the second half !! As we left the hall , all of us were of the same opinion that if the humour was there in the 2nd half too , it would ve been a great movie !! But then as he says now n then in the movie , i can say the movie was only a "Good job" and only for the first half !! Ppl who still wanna watch it - Guys , Dark Knight has released now !! Go watch that !! :-/

This entry was posted on Friday, July 18, 2008 and is filed under , , , . You can leave a response and follow any responses to this entry through the Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom) .

9 comments

Really? Hm..I am yet to watch it, shall not put too much expectation then..heheh!

Hey I am a great fan of Will Smith too, after watching him in "I m Legend". Saw this Hancock movie title everywhere, so ain't great afterall huh?

Oh ya, how much is a movie ticket in Chennai? It's expensive to watch a movie in Singapore nowadays. 1 ticket costs like S$10 on weekend, damn ex! For a family to watch a movie? No way man, we can have a good meal in a restaurant!

@ Limzhi and Eunice

Yup.. Aint that great as i expected it to be ! So if u watchin , pls Go with Zero expectations.. Who knows , May be u ll like it more than me ! :)

Tickets here are pretty cheap only , Cos movies are the main mass-entertainment over here !! And tickets here differ from one theater to another depending on whether its a single hall or a multiplex.. Single theaters have tickets at 40-60 Rs..thats 1-1.5 US $ .. Multiplex tickets vary from 80-120 Rs.. thats 2-3 US $ !!

Wow!!! That's really cheap!! You know, most of us also like to watch movies in the cinemas, used to watch a lot last time, BUT! The the movie ticket price keep going up, so poor folks like us hardly watch movies now.. =(

So, when we are in Malaysia, we usually catch a movie, cos it's only like RM5 during off peak hour, that is around USD1.60 only.

I got many negative comments from Hancock too, hmm~ And i heard Dark Knight is nice, hope to hear your comment on Dark Knight soon. =)

I agree, Hancock was disappointing, even for the low standards I put it at before viewing it. Read my review on my site and let me know what you think, thank so much.

will check this out but like sis limzhi, wont have too much expectation. :)

Yipeeee .. Have booked the tickets for The Dark Knight for tomorrow !! I just cant wait !! :)